Scroll to content
Gifford Primary School home page

Gifford Primary School

Be Strong, Be Kind, Be Proud

Gifford Government

Gifford Government, formally known as ‘School Council’ is formed by a representative from every class from Year 1 to Year 6, including our Hearing Impaired Unit.


Reps nominate themselves and are then voted in by their class members and are identified with a Gifford Government badge.


Miss Robinson helps run the Gifford Government and they all meet regularly to discuss issues that affect our pupils. They also discuss and implement changes and events in the school, such as charities to support and how we will support them, which competitions we take part in as a school and the recruitment of new staff. They provide feedback on important parts of school life such as: activities we would like to see more of or introduced, equipment and resources needed,  attendance, school meals and all school events such as assemblies.


Any child in the school that would like an issue raised at a meeting can approach their class representative and they will represent that person and discuss the issue at the next meeting. 


What has the Gifford Government worked on over the past years?
  • Charity events – Children in Need and Red Nose Day (we have organised events and activities and raised well over £2000 for these two worthy causes)
  • Set up competitions for children to take part in. Our biggest success was The Power of Poetry competition, where we had 12 children selected from thousands of entries, to have their original poems published in a book.
  • Awarded the first stage of Unicef UK’s Rights Respecting Schools Award (RRSA), Bronze: Rights Committed. This achievement shows that we are committed to promoting and realising children’s rights and encouraging adults, children and young people to respect the rights of others in school
  • Helped design and set up the ‘Meaningful Work Programme’


Gifford Government 2021-22

Year group




Year 2

2 Bleriot

Elsa Yam

Meth Jayaweera

2 Coleman

Zoya Gurung-Thakali

Ledion Azemi 

2 Johnson

Javed Moradi

Suriyah Gbolahan-Mingard

2 Wright

Lyla Perriman

Abel Kirubel

Year 3

3 Belfast

Tyler Darbon

Kyreice Woods

3 Cardiff

Sahil Arya

Max Czynsz

3 Edinburgh

Daniel Ajose

Hamza Stanikzai

3 London

Burhanuddin Sheikh-Rasul

Laila Ashruf

Year 4

4 Amazon

Grace Lakka

Niloak Senanayake

4 Nile

Abdala Mohamed

Ajla Caka

4 Thames

Amelia Celaj

Omar Siddiq

4 Tigris

Muhammad Afzal

Syeda-Ajiya Rizvi​

Year 5

5 Athens

Sanjana Sabesan

May Abdulsattar

5 Corinth

Anisa Azemi

Daniel Lawal

5 Olympia

Victoria Nalepa

Jayden Samushonga

5 Sparta

Lula Abdi

Kacper Sitarz

Year 6

6 Al-Biruni

Akida Lewin

Gianni Porter-Asman

6 Bell-Burnell

Rihanna Yusuf

Shrika Koppula

6 Copernicus

Sana Zammani

Luqmaan Dirie

6 Galileo

Sofia Mohamed

Thasvika Jeyam

Why being part of Gifford Government is important