Scroll to content
Gifford Primary School home page

Gifford Primary School

Be Strong, Be Kind, Be Proud

Cultural Capital

Cultural Capital is the accumulation of knowledge, behaviours, and skills that a child gains over time through different experiences and opportunities. They draw upon these to demonstrate their cultural awareness, knowledge and competence. It is one of the key ingredients a child will draw upon to be successful in society, their career and the world of work.



Cultural Capital gives a child power. It helps them achieve goals, become successful, and rise up the social ladder without necessarily having wealth or financial capital.


At Gifford, we recognise that for a child to aspire and be successful academically and in the wider areas of their lives, they need to be given rich and sustained opportunities to develop.


There are six key areas of development that are interrelated and cumulatively contribute to a child’s Cultural Capital:

  1. Personal Development 
  2. Social Development
  3. Physical Development
  4. Spiritual Development
  5. Moral Development
  6. Cultural Development
1. Personal Development
  • Careers Information;
  • Personal Finance Education;
  • Citizenship, Personal, Social and Health Education provision;
  • The school’s wider pastoral framework;
  • Growth mindset and metacognition - Resilience development strategies;
  • Transition support;
  • Work to develop confidence e.g. public speaking;
  • Activities focused on building self-esteem;
  • Mental Health & well-being provision.


2. Social Development
  • Citizenship, Personal, Social and Health Education provision;
  • Volunteering and charitable works;
  • Pupil Voice – School Council;
  • Provisions linked to the school’s Healthy Schools’ Accreditation;
  • In school and wider community engagement;
  • Pastoral support;
  • Access to counselling.


3. Physical Development
  • The Physical Education curriculum;
  • Healthy Eating policies and catering provision;
  • Anti-bullying and safeguarding policies and strategies;
  • The Health Education dimension of the PSHE programme, including strands on drugs, smoking and alcohol;
  • The extra-curricular programme related to sports and well-being;
  • The celebration of sporting achievement including personal fitness and competitive sport;
  • Cycling proficiency training and Cycling to School Safely protocol;
  • Activities available during unstructured time- lunch and break times;
  • Activity-based trips;
  • Curriculum units related to food preparation and nutrition;
  • The promotion of walking or cycling to school.


4. Spiritual Development
  • The Religious Education curriculum;
  • Collective acts of worship and reflection;
  • Support for the expression of individual faiths;
  • Inter-faith and faith-specific activities and speakers;
  • Visits to religious buildings and centres;
  • The Assembly programme.


5. Moral Development
  • The Religious Education curriculum;
  • The school's Behaviour Management policy;
  • Contributions to local, national and international charitable projects.


6. Cultural Development
  • Promotion of racial equality and community cohesion through the school’s ethos, informing all policy and practice.Citizenship Education through PSHE;
  • Access to the Arts;
  • Access to the languages and cultures of other countries through the curriculum and trips and visits;


11 by 11

In today's fast-paced world, providing children at Gifford Primary School with enriching experiences is essential to their development. By the age of 11, young minds are at a critical stage of growth, curiosity, and exploration. These 11 enrichment experiences offer Gifford pupils the building blocks for a well-rounded, empowered, and intellectually curious individual. By nurturing these experiences, we pave the way for a brighter future and equip children with the skills and knowledge they need to succeed in an ever-changing world. This journey of discovery, growth, and enrichment, as we empower our young ones to thrive by the age of 11 and beyond.